Peanut Butter Cookies (with coconut oil)

Standard

Since my chocolate chip cookies with coconut oil came out great, I decided to try the same substitution with peanut butter cookies.

 

The final recipe is based on Betty Crocker, with a 1:1 substitution of butter for coconut oil, a little less sugar, and a little more peanut butter. Averie Cookies gave me the cornstarch tip, as well as the baking soda + powder tip.

 

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (you can use a bit more if you want)
  • 1/4 cup shortening
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, at room temperature
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4 all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Optional: about 2 cups of chips (peanut butter, chocolate, toffee–get creative!)

Recipe:

  1. Mix the following well: shortening, coconut oil, peanut butter, egg, and sugar. The dough will likely have a Play-Doh-like consistency, so use your hands if you need to! (It’s more fun that way, anyway.)
  2. Mix the dry ingredients in a separate bowl, and blend in until well mixed.
  3. REFRIGERATE at least 2 hours and up to 5 days (otherwise the dough will be too soft and will yield flat, hard, cookies).
  4. Heat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit, and bake for 8-10 minutes (or 350 and bake 12-14 minutes, depending on your oven).
  5. Cool on tray for 5 minutes, and then cool completely on wire rack.

Results: I have to admit that I messed the recipe up today; I used 1/2 cup each of shortening and coconut oil because I misread the recipe. So my  ‘Lesson of the Day’ is not to bake when stressed and tired (I have a senior thesis due in a week, and thought baking would help me relax.) The cookies had a great melt-in-your-mouth quality, but are hella fattening. But the taste was great, they weren’t too dense thanks to the cornstarch I believe, and they were soft and gooey (well, too much so because of the extra fat). I will use the correct proportions next time, and update! Apologies!

 

Next time (once I fix my extra-fat-problem): I’m going to try these eggless!

Leave a Reply

